Tags

,

I’m not eager to look back on 2013 because it hasn’t been that great in many respects, but reading-wise I can’t complain. I’ve already written about most books I read last year, but lets have a short 2013-reading-list retrospective, maybe even with grades on a scale from 1 to 5, to spice it up:

1. Victor Pelevin: “Pineapple Water for the Fair Lady” (2.5)

2. Srđan Valjarević: “Dnevnik druge zime” (The Diary of Another Winter) (3.5)

3. Patrick McGrath: “Asylum” (3.5)

4. Dubravka Ugrešić: “Zabranjeno čitanje” (Thank You for Not Reading) (3.5)

5. Jennifer Egan: “A Visit from the Goon Squad” (4)

6. Bill Bryson: “Neither Here nor There” (4)

7: Lidija Lagrini: “Telo tama tabu” (Body Darkness Taboo) (2.5)

8. Peter Cheyney: “Uneasy Terms” (3.5)

9. George Saunders: “The Tenth of December” (4.5)

10. Khaled Hosseini: “A Thousand Splendid Suns” (2.5)

11. Jose Saramago: “All the Names” (4.5)

12. Erlend Loe: “Inventory” (4)

13. Ellen Gilchrist: “Victory Over Japan” (4.5)

14. Jennifer Egan: “The Keep” (3.5)

15. Vladimir Arsenijević: “U potpalublju” (In the Hold) (3.5)

16. Phillip K. Dick: “Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?” (3.5)

17. Vedrana Rudan: “Ljubav na posljednji pogled” (Love at Last Sight) (3)

18. Ante Tomić: “Čudo u Poskokovoj Dragi” (Miracle at Poskokova Draga) (4)

19. The Brothers Strugatsky: “A Billion Years Till the End of the World” (4)

20. The Brothers Strugatsky: “Ugly Swans” (4.5)

Disclaimer*: I’ve given the same mark to some books that I actually don’t value the same. Blame it on the limiting 1-to-5 scale.

*I’m not sure this is the correct use of the word “disclaimer”.

Also, if my grades seem a little harsh, I have to point out that the grades from 1 to 5 are only reserved for books that I consider to have some literary value. Books like “50 Shades of Gray” or whatever would have negative value here.

You’re probably NOT wondering how I remember everything I’ve read in the past year, but I’ll say it anyway: book journal. I’ve been writing down titles and names of authors since I started to read… back when I was two years old. 😉

